Spot the pub 26

This will not be the easiest post to do , as I am currently on a beer and free diet, so working from memory on this one, ( and my memory tells me that I could do with a beer.) At this time I would like to refute the suggestion made to me that pictures always show me with a glass of Doombar in my hand. – It may say Doombar on the glass, but may not be Doombar in the glass; I mean it says Covonia on the side of buses, but they don’t sell it ! ( That one is an answer to a remark made by Mandimac). Now onto the post.

This is actually made from a culmination of visits to this particular establishment, but based mainly on one visit that sticks out in my memory  – NAY etched into my memory! Mrs W and I first tried this pub some time ago, and fell in love with one of the meals on the menu, and the choice of beer for me, and coffee for Mrs W. It was roundabout midday when we decided to go to our favoured haunt, so it was fairly quiet inside, and we found a spot so we could look outside – but not too near the window because of the draught -( yes  – old age creeping up); we ordered our food and drink – soft drink for Mrs W, and a beer for me – Pride of Pendle ( served in a Theakstons glass just to annoy those with OCD )

Not Theakstons
Not Theakstons

Then came the food – Now I was not  known to be a be a healthy eater, but this may have been a turning point, because I ordered the Ploughman’s  – just look at it – not healthy but delicious  ( I am drooling)

Ploughmans
Ploughmans

So, there we were, me and Mrs W, and a few more couples, sat having a quiet drink, and a bite to eat,  as I gave an idle stare out of the window I saw a group of about eight women walking up the road.  Feeling slightly nervous I remarked to Mrs W ” That looks like a hen party there ! ” HORROR !! – I only wanted a quiet drink. I slid down into my chair to watch them, hoping that they would walk straight past and further into town; but one of them gave a quick sideways glance towards the pub and our fate was sealed.

A relaxing atmosphere
A relaxing atmosphere
Quiet bar
Quiet bar

It was a peaceful atmosphere, then, in through the door , which is kind of at the side of the pub, the hen party came.   Now you must have heard it said on TV that ” The noise was equivalent to a jumbo jet taking off ” – well that is what I am talking about now – or perhaps I’m understating it  – JEEZ I’ve never heard anything like it – A group of about eight or ten women , all old enough to know better because I don’t think any of them would see their thirtieth birthday again, all shouting loudly over each other , trying to make themselves heard. I think everyone within a half mile radius could hear them ; I know that one of them was called Linsey, because I have a lasting memory of a voice shouting ” HEY LINSEY ” – Blimey woman she is two yards away not two hundred and two ! The customers who were already in the pub had a panic stricken look about them , like they had just felt an earth tremor, and didn’t know what to do – just sit tight folks an don’t even think about moving! So approximately fifteen minutes of laughing, shrieking, wailing and cackling,  all at jumbo jet levels then  SILENCE – the hen party had departed. ” Gosh isn’t it quiet ” said Mrs W , as the tumbleweed rolled across the pub floor. I now dared to go back to the bar, where the barmaid was now looking slightly bedraggled but triumphant, after weathering the storm of the hen party. Lets have a quick check round the pub for damage.

Poster
Poster
Poster
Poster
Entrance way
Entrance way
Yes please
Yes please
Room downstairs
Room downstairs
A bit posh
A bit posh
Mmm What connection ?
Mmm –  alleged connection ?

Seems ok hen party all noise – but which pub – at least one tenuous clue is there. Good luck.  As usual I will add more pictures if no correct guess is forthcoming.

Named by the Weatherhill Beerhunter  – The Blue Boar in York

Blue Boar York

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “Spot the pub 26

  1. The Blue Boar in York. The clues were there. Dick Turpin leads to York and the Cask Ale Bats are quite unusual.

Leave a Reply

