Spot The Pub 22

This pub is in a town we visit occasionally, I thought it could have been a small city because it has some history, but Wikiwhatsitdoofer says it is a town, so we will settle for   town.  A few years ago we found a carpark on the outskirts of the town centre where there is usually spaces, so we use that car park, and walk the few hundred yards into the  town centre. Our route into the centre takes us past this pub – and seeing the pub you just think ” now that is what I call a pub”.  we have passed this pub before and said ” We must call in there ” – on this occasion we did – and am I glad we did – great place ! I have had to edit the pictures quite a lot because this place knew how to market itself.  Most clues edited out  – NOT ALL – here we go.

traditional or what
traditional or what

First drink was hand pulled Bass – not bad but near end of barrel. There were several rooms and bar areas in this pub, and we were there mid afternoon – the restaurant area was closing down after lunch, but bar food was still available in other areas.- thank goodness the restaurant was shutting down –  did you see the prices ? – no you were not there were you ?

Unspecified beer
Unspecified beer

Bass ran off so went for (sorry cannot tell you) – I googled the name of the beer and came up with ” sat drinking a pint of (said beer ) in the ( name of pub) ” – that would be too easy for The Weatherhill Beerhunter,  but it was a decent drink. – even the beer mats had clues.

Bar
Bar

Pub name all over. The girl behind the bar in this room was made for the job – friendly, chatty if you wanted to chat ( Mrs W likes to chat) and very informative – but she couldn’t tell me what ” one eyed sailors ” were on the breakfast menu , but lets be honest she didn’t make it , she just passed the order onto the kitchen. – Lets have a look at the breakfast menu.

Breakfast
Breakfast

If you’re gonna have a menu you might as well put your name on it, so it seems.  Mrs W talking to the girl behind the bar asked did they have any ghosts ( it is an old building) The girl said that she had never seen anything, but John(?) (sorry I  cannot remember the name) who works there said he had seen something, but they just think he had had too much to drink. Then she added – ” but I do not like going down into the cellar though – there is just something about it.”   Anyway  that’s enough gossip,  – lets do some looking.

doorway
doorway

Gosh they even have their name on the rugs.

Hallway
Hallway
Furniture
Furniture
model
model

A model of the pub on the mantel piece, and a short history of it on a board to the right. Now Mrs W,  being not backwards in coming forwards talked her way into the now empty dining room, and took some pics. ” just tell them why you are doing it ” she says – and the truth is they are usually very accommodating.

Dining area
Dining area

Mmh let’s look in the fireplace

Fireplace
Fireplace

Is that a monkey stood with the sweep ?

Ahh
Ahh

This picture just reminds me of the question ” Who hung the monkey ” – Don’t know why. perhaps I’ve got a twisted thought pattern. Ok  lets look at part of a mural.

Partial Mural
Partial Mural

Had to cut the total give away part off.

No Editing on this one
No Editing on this one

For a Wessy bonus  who did hang the monkey – and is it relevant . The challenge is name the pub before I reveal the full Mural . – The clues ARE there !

spotted by The Southern Shandyhunter  in record time – stewards enquiry in progress

Black boy inn canaervon
Black boy inn canaervon

It’s a belter  – give it a go if you are down there

 

 

 

 

11 comments on “Spot The Pub 22

  1. The Pub? Piece of cake! Black Boy Inn – Caernarfon

    As for hanging the monkey? I Googled it, and I got stories regarding an old folk tale of the people in Hartlepool who hanged a monkey which was the only survivor from a French ship during the Napoleonic war…

    …. BUT! There is another local tale from Boddam in Aberdeenshire which predates this, where the residents similarly hanged a monkey who was the sole survivor of a shipwreck. However, this was so they could claim salvage rights to the contents of the ship (as all of the crew had to be dead before this could be applied)!

    Interesting little read

    • You can have the wessy bonus for the who hung the monkey but I thought I would have at least a week on that one – I have my next local history post in mind – I am putting it together at the minute, but thought I would have more breathing space than half an hour.
      was going to abuse you then – but my followers are few and far between so I will bite my tongue

  2. I got it too without seeing the Southern Fairy’s answer. There were plenty of clues it was Wales but it was the “Vedetts Lager on Draught” sign which led me to the answer. I googled that and the 6th item down was the Black Boy Inn’s menu. I looked at the menu and the picture on it looked like the one on the rugs in the hallway. I’m embarassed to admit that Mr Beerhunter, the Wetherspoon’s Visitor and I ate at the Black Boy back in August but I totally failed to recognise it. Doh!

    • We’ve eaten there several times before too! Never seen the mural or the figures in the fireplace. In my defence though the Black Boy is a bit of a rabbit warren of a place. Back in August we were seated in a separate building out back which we didn’t even know existed.

    • Now I kind of expected you to get it ‘cos you always get the hard ones – or what I think as hard ones, the easy ones – ie the ones that smack you in the face with the answer seem to pass you by –
      I do not know how the southern shandyhunter has got it – never seen a Jac du nor drunk one – but did buy me a 11 per cent leffe in holland and told me it was 6 or 8 per cent – told me it was like 2 black sheeps – the girl in the black boy told me she was only allowed to sell half pints of the leffe on draught – nice girl:-)

  3. Haha, I used Google to look up Ty Dre, as its mentioned on one of the menus hung on the wall. It brought me to the pub pretty swiftly, and a few photos were pretty obvious and were matched. I picked up on the nautical theme, and as you mentioned you had been there more than once, I initially thought Llandudno or North Wales, so I was able to narrow it down using that as well.

    A cheat? Or using initiative and some web sleuthing? Either way, I think a beer is in order.

Leave a Reply

