Spot The Pub 21

 

While toying with the idea of my next post, I thought I should do another ” Spot The Pub ” post , to keep The Weatherhill Beerhunter, and The Southern Fairy Apprentice Beerhunter  occupied. – This is easy, so no cheating ! – There has been a Public House on or near this spot for over 100 years, and I suspect that the building we are in now has grown from, and probably incorporates some of the original building, though much altered  and extended. Lets check the place out; starting with the beer.

Holy Grail and IPA
Holy Grail and IPA

Black Sheep ” Holy Grail” and Greene King “IPA ” ( John Smiths and choice of Lagers also available). Now I like my Black Sheep bitter, and I quite like the Golden Sheep, so I thought I would try the Holy Grail .

Holy Grail
Holy Grail

Didn’t really care for it – but it would be rude not to drink it. Lets take in the decor.

1980's lampshades
1980’s lampshades

Shabby chic lampshades? or just chic ? — no I said CHIC !!

There's another one
There’s another one
Bar area
seating,
Bar area
Bar area

Yes you can eat here – Yorkshire 5 course meal  – 4 pints and a pie . –    No seriously , typical pub grub – not cordon bleu but cheap and fills a hole.

Pool table
Pool table

Mrs W took the camera and went exploring – found a pool table – I hadn’t seen that – so credit where it’s due, Mrs W takes a lot of the Spot The Pub pictures. Can’t remember what we ate , but my second pint was IPA – that shows how much I didn’t like Holy Grail – learn by my mistakes. One last look inside – then we will look outside.

Different view
Different view

Lets go outside – now you will get it.

Out building
Out building

This building is now used for storage , according to one person who works here, but what was it ? a barn? a corn mill ? a Blacksmiths?

Oops nearly showed you a street name there – Will edit that picture and show later if needed – but probably will not be needed. – The race is on  – Name That Pub!

Additional picture
Additional picture

Street signs blocked.

 

Obviously struggling – you should get it from this view from the window

View from window
View from window

Please note – an incorrect guess does not disqualify you from the competition.

Answered at last by the Aspiring shandy drinking Beerhunter

Armytage Arms
Armytage Arms
Armytage Arms
Armytage Arms

 

 

4 comments on “Spot The Pub 21

  1. I feel sure I know those lampshades. Thought The Aspley but that’s not an old building. Looking at the various meal deals my guess is the Spinks’ Nest. I don’t recognise the outbuilding though.

Leave a Reply

