Spot the pub 14

Before starting this post, I must remind my readers that all opinions that are given are My own opinions, and are not some sort of Gallup poll survey. 🙂

Right Spot the pub 14 – We have walked past this pub on several occasions and thought ” we will have to call in there”, but never got around to it.  I have heard it called  “The best pub in ####### ” . I could find one a hundred yards away (and have done) that has a far better choice of beers, and I will follow that up with a later Spot The Pub. Spot The Pub 14 is in a Yorkshire City/Town  has guest accommodation, and its own dining area , it is an old building, fairly dimly lit, – hence my blurred pictures ( I don’t use flash- that’s my excuse ) . It always pays to call early.

Inside dining area
Inside dining area

This would appear to be a Timothy Taylors (Keithley) pub, a sign outside says “guest ales served” so we will have a look.

The front room
The front room

Nice friendly atmosphere, lets look what is being served.

Timothy Taylors
Timothy Taylors

Now I have the idea that I’m not too fond of Timothy Taylors ” Landlord” – probably down to overindulgence once , and not feeling too well afterwards, – so where is the guest ale? – beats me, so its Golden Best for me then.

Golden Best
Golden Best

Diet whatever  for Mrs W.     That Golden Best went down well 🙂    Not too bad this Timothy Taylors really

Diet Coke/Pepsi
Diet Coke/Pepsi

Lets try the food, – Its not cheap – it had better be good.

Kitchen
Kitchen

Here it is,

Fish and Chips
Fish and Chips

Wessyman got Fish and Chips with a Smidgen of bright green pollyfilla and a tub full of shamrock ! – not as good as the “Fat ‘ole” !   Mrs  W had bangers and Mash with peapods

Bangers and mash
Bangers and mash

This struck me as pub grub trying to be Jamie Olivers –  I need another beer.

Golden Best
Golden Best

Or maybe a bottle of that

Wine selection
Wine selection

OK a last look around.

Blurred - Sorry
Blurred – Sorry
Nice window
Nice window

That’s the giveaway

To sum up  – Beer kept well and good for Timmy Taylor fans. Food  – Mushy peas should not be a bright green smear on the plate ! – and I don’t eat Shamrock. Would I go again?  yes but I would walk past it to go to a ( in my opinion) better pub.  – No prize just the thrill of being the first to name it  🙂

The Woolly Sheep
The Woolly Sheep

Yes it’s The Woolly Sheep

5 comments on “Spot the pub 14

  1. The Woolly Sheep Skipton.
    The window was more of a hindrance than a help – I thought that was a black cat – though once I’d identified the pub I can see it’s part of their sheep logo.
    There aren’t that many Timothy Taylor pubs with accommodation but the few that exist all helpfully show photos on their websites.

Leave a Reply

