A Quick look at York

Into the city

Micklegate Bar

With a long weekend approaching Mrs Wessyman (Mrs W) booked us an overnight stay in York; practical girl that she is, I let her do all the arranging, and I just do what I am told (it leads to a Quiet Life -and you can please yourself when she’s not looking:-) ). ” Shall I put us some sandwiches up?” She asked  ” No” I replied  “We will go for a Pub Lunch” – Well why not , as you know I don’t mind the occasional beer now and then. So off we went, and here comes my travel tip . – I am no great traveller, but I have stopped in cities in the Uk and Europe  and although it may cost you  more, try to stay as central as you can , You might save a few bob on accommodation but spend something similar on bus/train/taxi fares into the city – and that’s just hassle.  Here endeth the first lesson. Right off we go then – monster kittens (so named by Mrs W) taken to local feline detention centre at Sowood (very good cattery actually) We set off.

Monster Kittens
Monster Kittens

Arriving before midday we walked down Micklegate, over the bridge , and  looked at the pubs on the banks of the Ouse – pub lunch beckoning.

River  Ouse
River Ouse

As you can see , not too busy (quite early) so lets go down and pick a pub.

Kings Arms
Kings Arms

Spoiled for choice really, we walked passed the Kings Arms  and went to The Lowther  (Mrs W attracted by the “Live Sports Shown”  sign , looking for somewhere to watch the Rugby league that evening  -[ anorak that she is] )

The Lowther
The Lowther

Looking at the pumps I went for Theakstons Best Bitter and we went up market choosing the  2 for £12 range – it filled a hole – but you only get what you pay for .

The Pumps in The Lowther
The Pumps in The Lowther

Lets have a look around.

The Lowther
The Lowther

 

Stairs to the upstairs restaurant
Stairs to the upstairs restaurant

Stairs to the upstairs restaurant (not open at this point). So there I was supping my beer and taking pictures when an interested customer ( nosy old bugger) asked “Are you trying a new camera out ?”. Had it been a member of staff I would have given them some bull about “good pub /food/beer guide” and seen what the food was like then, but it was definitely a customer,  so I politely explained that I occasionally wrote a blog etc, etc, etc ( I hope she doesn’t read it).

Theakstons Best
Theakstons Best

Wessyman When you’re in a hole STOP DIGGING!!! – that’s my beer – and this was my bill –

The bill
The bill

Certainly not the best pub around – but not the worst Wessyman score -food 5/10  beer 7/10 – lets move on.

Up to the city centre , Mrs W went “Lets find Lakeland – you can leave me there, and go and walk on the city walls or something ”  – In other words “take me to the shops then go away and amuse yourself for three hours”. so we found Lakeland  and mrs W said ” Right turn your phone on and we will meet there at Whittards  at quarter past three”. So doing what I  was told  I did have a walk on the city walls ( it’s better than shopping for sure). Started at Micklegate Bar .

Micklegate Bar
Micklegate Bar

Up the steps and turned Left Through the Tunnel – Enjoy the walk

OOH ERR
OOH ERR

On the wall

The wall
The wall

You can get a good view of some of the streets from here

Street
Street

Not many people walking on the wall – but obviously someone had been partying.

Litter
Litter

Now I don’t mind you having a few bevvies – but tidy up after yourself you idle person(s). I decided to walk up into the city – so got off the wall and walked up on the river bank, heading towards the city centre , passing Clifford’s Tower on my right and a mother taking her babies for a walk in front.

Clifford's Tower
Clifford’s Tower
Mum and babies
Mum and babies

Now into the city we go –

 

Into the city
Into the city

Lets go up The Shambles with all the rest of the tourists.

Bottom of The Shambles
Bottom of The Shambles

At the bottom of the Shambles there is a church with little stalls selling second hand books and bric a brac, etc for various charities and a small cafe inside (for charity ). I bypassed it on this occasion and carried on up The Shambles.

The Shambles
The Shambles
The Shambles
The Shambles

I took the occasion to go into Margaret Citherows house (Free you see) – Google her if you don’t know her- here are a couple of shots inside ( no flash – it kills the atmos)

Margaret clitherow's
Margaret clitherow’s

Looking the other way

Margaret Clitherow's
Margaret Clitherow’s

Almost time to meet mrs W so lets head towards Whittard’s

A Small Market
A Small Market

Through the small market and turn left at the bottom – ah there is a street entertainer –

Street Entertainer
Street Entertainer

Closer look

Street entertainer
Street entertainer

Now I didn’t ask you to stand up there and perform – so don’t ask me for money ! ( Yes I’m a true Yorkshireman 🙂 ). Then came the phone call from Mrs W ” where are you?” she asked ” Heading back to whittard’s like we said ” I  answered  ” Right” she said “I’ll meet  you there”. So off I went. Ten minutes later near Whittards my phone rang – Mrs W again ” I can’t find Whittard’s !” She wailed. “well what can you see?” I asked . ” I can see Lakelands ” she replied  ” Right walk onto the end of that  street  – there is a church there – I’ll see you there”. The church is All Saints Church  – Pavement  – lets go in.

All Saints
All Saints

It was quite busy outside – but I was all alone inside the church  – very tranquil.

All Saints York
All Saints York

look at the ceiling

Ceiling
Ceiling

One last look – then outside to meet Mrs W

All Saints
All Saints

On meeting Mrs W  she told me she needed to sit down and rest her feet; – good excuse to go to the pub – so off we went to the Golden Fleece, just across the road from the bottom of The Shambles.

Golden Fleece
Golden Fleece

lets go in.

The bar
The bar

When you go in there is a (small ) bar facing you, four people propping the bar up could  stop easy access , fortunately this is not the only bar, there is also bar in another room through a passageway going towards the back of the pub, you can just see the passageway to the right of this bar. Usual choice of guest beers , I went for Timothy Taylors  Landlords, Mrs W went for diet coke ( it was a warm day). Apparently  Living TV did a “Most Haunted ” show in this pub  – wow I’m really underwhelmed; lets see if we can capture any orbs.

The Golden Fleece
The Golden Fleece

Any orbs?

The front window
The front window

No orbs here. lets go into the back room.

Passage through to back
Passage through to back

In the back Mrs W found a regular to sit with ( Mrs W is on the right with face edited for anonymity)

Mrs W with friend
Mrs W with friend

Right lets sup up, and call it a day – back to the hotel.

Landlords
Landlords

Went down well

P1010086

Time for R and R – see you tomorrow 🙂

The next day was our second, and last day in York, it was a grey day and soon started to rain , at times it came down like stair rods. Mrs W found her way into a large department store- you know the one , it begins with a D and ends with HAMS and has got EBEN inbetween,  – Yes that’s the one; and sent me on my way ( born to shop that girl). When I finally  extracted Mrs W from the D shop, we passed the ” Mansion House” with a sign up saying ” Free entry today” (that magic word – FREE) . It got us out of the rain. no pictures I’m afraid – camera tucked away from the rain, and I wasn’t in the mood. To cheer me up Mrs W suggested we visit a pub SO WE DID:-). We went to The Three Tuns ( See spot the pub 2). Nominated driver Mrs W  had a cup of tea ( which Wessyman spilled all over the floor – the girl behind the bar replaced it free – and cleaned up the mess – good staff are hard to find), fortunately I didn’t spill my beer(s). Lets look around the pub.

The Three Tuns
The Three Tuns

looking towards the front door.

The Three Tuns
The Three Tuns

looking towards the back of the pub. – lets look at the bar.

Three of seven
Three of seven

tried Fullers Chiswick  – not bad actually.

Fullers Chiswick
Fullers Chiswick

Now this is a proper pub – well recommended by Wessyman, proper beer , traditional pub, nice staff.

a Proper pub
a Proper pub

lets try another beer  Purity Pure gold  – brewery in warwickshire (?)

Purity Pure Gold
Purity Pure Gold

Perhaps another one jumping on the blonde beer bandwagon – not a great fan – preferred the fullers Chiswick, one last look then the drive home.

Window The Three Tuns
Window The Three Tuns.

That’s about it really, 24 hours or so in York, a quick look – no history lessons , just my observations and opinions, feel free to express your own. It appears there are nearly as many churches inside the city walls as pubs , and there are more pubs than you can shake a stick at -some cracking ones too ! Here is a link to a sight I sometimes  refer to  – if you are going to York have a look : -)   Within the Walls – A York Pub Guide

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One comment on “A Quick look at York

Leave a Reply

