Spot the pub 12

Having put my local history post on the back burner, I found some time to visit another pub – so off we went. Mrs Wessyman had said to me ” We can visit any pub you like – as long as it makes you happy ! ”  – What a woman 🙂 – I bet you wish you’d married her. Anyway we went somewhere new to me, and to tell you the truth I won’t be rushing back – you’ll see why. – Lets go in.

Bar area
Bar area

Up to the bar area – only two beers on tap (not hand pulled) and several lagers,  ” Marstons pedigree please” says Mr Wessyman

“Sorry – run out ” said the girl behind the bar “We’ve only got Mansfield Smooth or Lager” – Now I’m not a beer snob (I’ll drink anything) and I’ve nothing against lager  – can’t beat a nice cold lager on a hot summer’s day – I often have a few bottles of Peroni, San miguel, Birra moretti, or Cobra in the fridge, but this is a british pub , on a cool day in early spring in the north of England  – Should have asked for Taylors Yorkshire Tea – but had to settle for Mansfield Smooth.

Mansfield Smooth
Mansfield Smooth

Mrs W went for coffee – sensible girl.

Mrs W's coffee
Mrs W’s coffee

This is where Wessyman went into grumble mode ” Mansfield Smooth or bl###y lager – whats that all about?” ” They’d be better calling this a bierkeller than pub” ” There’s your Mansfield Smooth old man”  grumble grumble, whinge  whine ( you get the idea don’t you?).  Now in all honesty the Mansfield was acceptable and I tried a second one just to make sure , but I would have liked a choice . As this was the middle of the day and food was being served, we placed our order and got good food (pub grub) at a good price.

Conservatory
Conservatory

Where we sat.

Another one
Another one

lets have a quick look  around.

Conservatory  again
Conservatory again
Pool table
Pool table

Up the stairs on the left to the toilet  – be careful if you’ve had a few

From the stairs
From the stairs

Food finished Wessyman has had enough – “won’t be coming here again” he says to Mrs W,  “Why?” says Mrs Wessy “The food was good”, “Yes ” said Wessyman  “But the beer -or lack of choice was poor! ”  Mrs Wessy then made an accurate observation ” You judge a pub by the beer – I judge it by its food”  – Well of course I do – if it didn’t sell beer I would be doing “Spot the cafe” , but wishing to keep a peaceful household no comment was made -I am going to stop digging this hole now while I can still climb out of it.   No prize for this one – only a pat on the back for correct answer.:-)

Judgement time  – beer(choice ) 1/10 per Wessyman,  food  8/10 per Mrs Wessy , visit again ? 2/10 per Wessyman and 8/10 per Mrs Wessy

Different shot of bar
Different shot of bar

Picture added for The  Weatherhill Beerhunter  ( not many more to add without giving the game away completely)

Should get it now
Should get it now

Easy now – or are you having me on ?

There you go
There you go

The Union Bar – New Street Huddersfield

 

 

 

4 comments on “Spot the pub 12

  1. Well, it doesn’t look familiar. It’s an odd looking place so I’m sure I’d recognise it if I’d been. Looks like one or more clues will be needed.

  2. I’ve only visited a few pubs during my brief time in the UK. However, my mother’s family is from there. Where I live, the south of France, the café’s the thing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

