Spot the pub 10

“Beer testing time ” says Mrs Wessyman , ” lets go down the pub!!” “What?? ” replied Wessyman  ” you want me to drink more beer ?? – ok if I must – I mean someone has to test the beer”

So off we go then on another mission , we will try somewhere new.

In the entrance
In the entrance

Nice window in entrance  – is this a clue? Now whats on tap ?

Which one ?
Which one ?

Look there is “Otter Bitter” – I got a bit of a taste for this in a pub the other week ( post to follow later)- so lets have one.

Otter Bitter
Otter Bitter

Now that’s a nice pint, now lets have a quick look around.

Posh bit ?
Posh bit ?
Games room
Games room

Time for another drink – lets try Theakstons Lightfoot – it’s ok , but it is just someone else jumping on the blonde beer  bandwagon

Lightfoot
Lightfoot
Who drunk that?
Who drunk that?

Went down well though. Lets look at mrs wessyman’s menu.

A bit dark
A bit dark

Sorry I try not to use flash, – spoils the atmos ( and drains your batteries) – back to the bar then.

£1.50 Otter
£1.50 Otter

Ordered another Otter: The glass was virtually full when the landlady said ” Oh the barrel has just gone off ” – seeing a full glass of sparkling ale , and being the gentleman that I am , I replied ” Oh it will be alright ” She looked up at me , smiled , and said ” I will only charge you £1 -50″ – It tasted all the better – I was tempted to ask “is there any more ready to go off ?”.  One last look around.

Above the bar
Above the bar
Commoners room
Commoners room
Across the room
Across the room

To sum up – a pleasant pub, nice staff (landlady) good beer – the landlady seemed to know her beer, the food could have been better – but who needs food when you have got beer.

So go on where are we – remember Wessyman has to drink a lot of beer  in different pubs to keep doing these posts, – so have a guess where we are, – there is a prize.

View from outside
View from outside
view through window
view through window

Added two new pictures  ( although the answer was already there) – should be easy now  🙂

The Royal Shepherd , Skipton
The Royal Shepherd , Skipton

Named by The Weatherhill Beerhunter – prize to follow

 

4 comments on “Spot the pub 10

  1. My thoughts so far. Otter Bitter is brewed in Devon but I don’t think the pub is there. If the lovely stained glass window is a clue them the pub is near a canal. I’m guessing it will be in Yorkshire though I suppose Lancashire is a possibility.
    I need to do some more research and will return!

  2. The Royal Shepherd, Skipton. I found it without looking at the new pictures. It was the stained glass window that did it. Googled “pub yorkshire stained glass canal barge” and the first web site offered was one about pubs in Skipton. It mentions the window. Further googling led me to the pub’s Facebook page on which there are some photos. There can only be one pub in the world with that carpet !

Leave a Reply

